Mini pillow is done!

So I finally finished Dave’s mini travel pillow! I think it turned out quite well, for being my first pillow and my first attempt with a sewing machine.

Dave's pillow

In this picture, all of the sides are sewn.

With my Singer, I sewed all four sides together. On the bottom, I left an opening wide enough to comfortably fit my hand in because I would have to stuff it after.

After stuffing the pillow, it was time to stitch it closed.

I didn’t want the pillow to be over-stuffed or too thin so it took me awhile to get the stuffing amount just right. But when I was happy with its density, I used the lighter color thread and used a closing stitch, pinching both fabrics close together so that it would match up with the rest of the sewn parts. It wasn’t easy and it didn’t turn out as well as I wanted it to, but I think I did a pretty good job for my first pillow!

Here is the pillow all stitched up finished!

I had to close my pillow “twice” because the first time, I didn’t grab enough of the fabric. So when I closed it initially, it was hanging loosely. So I “closed” it again, this time using pins to guide me. I think it turned out great! Lotso Bear seems to like it!

Side view of pillow.

Here’s a side view of the pillow. It’s not too thick, nor too thin. With a bit of kneading, the stuffing will even out perfectly. The finished pillow is slightly bigger than a sheet of paper (which I based my initial pattern off of), measuring at 12 in x 9 in.

I love the end result and I can’t wait to make more!

– – Alyssa

2 thoughts on “Mini pillow is done!

Leave a comment